Obedient Ingredients

A place to put cooking ideas to the test.

Vegetable Infused Pimm’s Cocktail

Leave a comment

All it takes is one random comment.

I read about cocktails often. I had a bottle of Pimm’s and was figuring out what to do with it. A Pimm’s Cup is just fine (Pimm’s, ginger beer/ale, with cucumbers and mint), but I wanted to do something different with it.

While reading about variations on the Pimm’s Cup, in the comment section of this particular post, I came across someone who said the following:

“So the best Pimms Cup I’ve ever had was in New Orleans at this super old bar that I can’t remember the name of. The bartender had been working there for like 15 years and we talked Pimms. She infused her Pimms with cucumber, celery and carrots for 4 weeks and mashed the veggies in then double strained the liquor. She used a good ginger ale, and if you were nice she would throw in a rosemary infused gin topper.

Without a doubt one of the best drinks I’ve ever had. Just wanted to throw in another idea of what you can do.” [Emphases added]

I knew I needed to try this! I couldn’t find any other recipe similar to this description on Google.

Below is this unnamed cocktail that I just made, and it is indeed amazing, like this commenter said. This is not my idea, but this my recipe.

IMG_6919 (2)

First, what is Pimms?

31dover-pimms-shadow320x1000_1_

Pimms, according to Google, is a gin-based alcohol, served typically with lemonade or soda water. That doesn’t really help.

It can be referred to as a liqueur. More specifically, it is a fruit cup, also known as a summer cup. This is traditionally from England. It is usually gin based, but can also be vodka based. It is flavored with herbs, spices and fruits.

Pimm’s is a brand, and the most popular fruit cup alcohol on the market in America.

Anyway, on to this cocktail.

The instructions were to infuse this fruit-based alcohol with carrots, celery and cucumber. I LOVE savory cocktails, or at least cocktails with unique flavor profiles, such as vegetative. You can read about my favorite cocktail that uses yellow bell pepper juice. This carrot, celery cucumber combination seemed amazing. I peeled them and stuffed them in a jar, and filled it with Pimm’s.

IMG_6918 (2)

Even after one day, it smelled and tasted amazing.

IMG_6917 (2)

3 weeks later (instructions said 4, but I couldn’t wait), I decided to make a drink with the other ingredients listed in the comment: gin, ginger ale and rosemary.

Here is the recipe for this unnamed Vegetable Pimm’s cocktail.

1 oz. Infused Pimm’s

1 oz. Gin (I used St. George Terroir)

Juice from half a lemon

0.5 oz. Simple syrup

Sprigs of rosemary, one for shaking in the cocktail, another for garnish.

Ginger ale or beer, to top off.

Combine ingredients except for ginger ale. Shake vigurously with ice. Double strain. Top with a LITTLE bit of ginger ale. Adjust ginger ale for sweetness. Garnish with rosemary.

IMG_6913 (2)

It is so tasty and went down quickly. Refreshing and clean, yet a wonderful aftertaste. Everything worked so well together. I’ve used gin and rosemary together before with great success.

Next time I will wait for this Pimm’s to be infused for the full 4 weeks. I will also infuse gin with fresh rosemary.

Help me think of a name for this cocktail or help me find the bar that created this!

IMG_6915 (2)

Leave a Reply

