Obedient Ingredients

A place to put cooking ideas to the test.

Snack Bracket: FINAL FOUR!

Leave a comment

Vote here:

http://goo.gl/forms/7bBS2CuLrO

Reigning champion Reese’s Mini Peanut Butter cups will face off against Girl Scout winner Samoas. The winner of the sweets will face off against the winner of White Cheddar Popcorn vs. Apple Slices with Peanut Butter.

Now, your comments:

 

First, my favorite comment:

Elizabeth Brinton (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elizabeth_Brinton) was able to sell more than 10,000 boxes of girl scout cookies in the 1985 selling season. Why do you think that is? Her stupid uniform? Her Girl-Scouty good manners? Her good-ol’ American determination and sense of Manifest Destiny? Hell no. Samoas sell themselves. The combination of bright coconut, soft caramel, and rich chocolate make them something special, something magical. Dare I even say inspiring? Yes! I do dare! Samoas are inspiring! If PB Cups are a heavy favorite to win this tournament, all I can say is, so was Georgetown in 1985. And we all know how that story ended. In glory. For the Wildcats, and for Elizabeth Brinton, apparently. I submit that this year’s story shall not only end in glory, but in caramel and coconut as well.

 

Also, this hate toward Cadbury eggs comes in a close second (this was all from one person) :

Cadbury eggs are gross. No one EVER gets excited about cadbury eggs. The fact that they change the colors of the yolk to make it look real is an ever more offensive affront to mankind.
I will work for the overthrow of this monstrosity. Right here. Right now

I got your huevos right here!

“Hey man, have you ever seen deez before?”
“Deez what?”
“Deez Cadbury Balls!”

Your mother was a hamster and your father smelt of cadbury eggs.

Cadbury Eggs? More like Can-I-bury-these-nasty-eggs!!!

GO HOME, CADBURY EGGS!!!!!!

Get your gross chocolate mini-testes out of here!

F you, Lord Cadbury!

 

And the rest, which are gold…

 

I feel like too many Cinderella stories made this list

 

McDonald’s fries are literally the only thing I can think of in a hypothetical massive salty region that would go above White cheddar popcorn. And frankly I feel awful for supporting that corporation but here I am.

Apples would be a clear winner IF THEY WERE PAIRED WITH NEW YORK EXTRA SHARP CHEDDAR #EXPERIENCE

I prefer thin mints but I suspect I’ll lose that one. They’re the only girl scout cookies I like.

Girl Scout Cookie on Girl Scout Cookie. It was gonna happen sooner or later.

 

I’ve never understood the appeal of Samoas, and I’m pretty sure that the Samoan people feel misrepresented by that product too.

 

As over-represented as Reese’s were, I will not let Cadbury’s Mini Eggs take the land. WE MUST FIGHT FOR WHAT WE BELIEVE IN.

If Samoas loses I will murder a girl scout for each vote it lost by. Choose wisely.

McD’s fries and WCPop. THIS IS THE TOUGHEST MATCH UP IN THE HISTORY OF MATCH UPS. Please take my unborn first born instead of making me choose. Making me vote for this one was like experience the ten plagues set upon the people of Egypt.

Veggies and Hummus. No question bro.

 

I wonder what actual girl scouts will think about the Samoas vs. Thin Mints championship. I also wonder what it would be like to have a Samoa on top of a Thin Mint. Luckily for me, I have a box of both at home. I will be making this unlikely, yet potentially cataclysmically delicious, combination when I get home tonight.

 

Cadbury Mini Eggs and Apples with Peanut Butter are the outliers here. They don’t belong in the Elite Eight.

Overall, not many complaints here. Pretty great snacks. I wouldn’t have picked these, but I mostly approve of folks’ voting. However, it is ridiculous that no cheesy food made the salty elite eight. No Cheetos? Or Nacho Doritos? The fix was in.

Shredded coconut is the devil, and while I am disappointed that the GOAT of Girl Scout Cookies (TAGALONGS OBVIOUSLY) did not make it, frozen Thin Mints vs. Samoas should be like Clay/Liston II, with Samoas standing victoriously over their inferior brethren.

If apples beat out veggies and hummus, I might boycott the Final Four.

 

Everyone stop stressing about pooping problems after eating anything in particular. Like no dump is enjoyable.

PS if you don’t pick thin mints, something is seriously wrong with you. I will personally feed you thin mints until you like them.

 

I strongly believe there are FAR too few cheesy options in this Edible 8. Then again, I would probably give “cheesy” it’s own region… so maybe it’s just me.

 

I wish I could abstain from the Girl Scout cookies matchup. I know I’m in the minority, but woof. So many other superior options had to stand by and watch that atrocity. I hope both teams lose.

 

This is the best and worst survey. I’ve eaten more junk food this week than i’ve eaten in the last year and it’s bc you keep sparking cravings!! it’s unhealthy to be so involved with the snacket. Can’t wait to bring it to the Final Four and have my own taste testing to make sure i’m choosing the right ones.

Leave a Reply

