Obedient Ingredients

A place to put cooking ideas to the test.

Grilled Cheese Party

7 Comments

My kind of party goes like this:

1) Invite a bunch of friends over.

2) Say that you will provide sliced bread (Italian white) and tomato soup. Also butter and mayo.

3) Each guest will need to bring their own cheese and any other ingredients they want to use for their creation.

That’s right, it’s a grilled cheese party.

It was interesting to see how creative people were, but I believe everyone appreciated the simpler sandwiches as well (there was one with American cheese, bacon and tomato). I am sure I am forgetting some creations from the party, but there were just too many people and people’s sandwiches were gone as soon as they were out of the frying pan!

This was the second year I’ve done a party like this, and the amount of people present almost doubled from last year’s grilled cheese party. I think, in the future, I will have fewer guests so we can be more intentional with trying out each others’ grilled cheeses.

Here are some of the creations from the other night:

My sandwich: Goat cheese w/ basil, caramelized onions, sweet red pepper, fried pancetta, and pili pili oil. Coated with mayo instead of butter on the bread.

The Spaniard: Manchego cheese with slices of chorizo.

(NOTE: last year I made this sandwich, but I recommend it with some sort of quince or fig spread).

Buffalo Chicken: Cooked chicken mixed with mayo, diced red onion, carrot shavings, celery bits and Frank’s Buffalo Red Hot with cheddar and blue cheese.

There were many others, but there was no time to take pics, because we were too busy eating them!

Brie and Nutella

Brie with caramelized apples, cranberries and triple sec.

Mac and Cheese grilled Cheese

What are some of your favorite grilled cheese recipes?

7 thoughts on “Grilled Cheese Party

  1. Nothing too crazy, but rather than fry my grilled cheese in butter, I use about 2 tablespoons of EVOO with a little salt and pepper. Get oil smokin hot and then before you flip, add a little more oil, salt, and pepper. SO GOOD. Its crispier, a little salty, and so gooey! Also tomato jam is really awesome with a bunch of smoked cheddar and a little arugula on a grilled cheese.

  2. Croque Monsieur (i think thats how you spell it) – grilled ham and cheese – thats my favourite!

  3. Yum! There’s a restaurant in Worcester called Armsby Abbey that does a seasonal grilled cheese with local produce and cheese. We’re headed there tomorrow night. I shall report back!

  4. Pingback: Pili Pili Oil « Obedient Ingredients

  5. Oh man! I now have a plan for my annual Christmas party with friends! Great post!

  6. Pingback: How to Throw a Grilled Cheese Party | Obedient Ingredients

Leave a Reply

