Obedient Ingredients

A place to put cooking ideas to the test.

Quick Test: Canned vs. Dry Garbanzo Bean Hummus

Leave a comment

Here is a typical time of making some yummy food while simultaneously conducting my own experiment. Measurements and other scientific guidelines were not really put in place. I just made two things and compared them.

I made three batches of hummus today, because I had a ton of ingredients:

1) Hummus from canned chickpeas (garbanzo beans)

2) Hummus from dry beans (the ones you need to soak over night first)

3) Hummus from a mix of canned and dry beans but roasted!

My recipe was all over the place. Expect another post one day in the Road to Perfection series where I tackle trying to make the best hummus. Ever. In the world.

Today, I just threw things together that I thought would go well with hummus.

Ingredients:

Chickpeas

Tahini paste

lemon

garlic

olive oil

salt

spices (more about that later)

That’s the basic foundation of hummus The amounts certainly vary from recipe to recipe. While the amounts of spices or olive oil varied only slightly from each batch I made, the three main differences were in the chickpeas.

Canned chickpeas (or garbanzo beans, they are used interchangably) are great: cheap, easy, relatively healthy. They ARE salty, though, as any canned good would be.

Dry garbanzo beans, like any other dry beans, need to soak in water and get cooked before one can eat them. These beans are healthier than the canned stuff, but labor intensive. I soaked the beans overnight and throughout the day (with eater covering the dry beans by 2 inches…in the morning I needed to add more water). When I came home, I rinsed the beans and covered them with fresh water, brought to a boil and simmered for an hour. I added some salt, pepper and some bay leaves for taste.

The last batch has half canned chickpeas and half fresh chickpeas and put them on a baking sheet and put them in an oven at 350 for about 15-20 minutes.

I pureed the chickpeas, tahini, lemon juice, garlic, salt, spices and then slowly added olive oil.

Here’s my secret spice that makes the hummus come alive: oregano. I added a LOT of that. I also added some cumin, cayenne, black pepper, onion powder and garlic powder.

But how much of each spice did you throw in, you ask? I don’t remember. I kept adding for taste.

AND I added a few pinches of diced, raw yellow onion. Not too much or else you get the onion flavor, but it brought a brightness and sweetness to it.

Results:

So what is better? Hummus made with: chickpeas from a can/fresh chickpeas/roasted chickpeas?

Well I didn’t like them roasted. The texture was off; too dry and coarse, not very smooth, which is how I like it. The taste didn’t really add anything as well, just a deeper flavor of chickpea.

The fresh chickpeas tasted good, but definitely needed more salt added, and they had an earthier taste to it.

Other than the less saltiness and earthier taste, the fresh bean hummus didn’t taste very different from the canned bean hummus. At least, not that big of a difference to warrant 18 hours of soaking and then boiling.

Canned chickpeas > fresh chickpeas > roasted chickpeas.

There’s my quick opinion on the matter, but I would like to revisit this in the future.

Leave a Reply

