Obedient Ingredients

A place to put cooking ideas to the test.

Homemade Harry Potter Butterbeer

6 Comments

Halloween is upon us, and I thought it would be fitting to conduct a test to try out homemade Butterbeer, the drink that appears in the Harry Potter books. As a huge fan of HP and food tests and things with the word “beer” in it, I figured this would be a great experiment for today and this winter.

However, I was unable to actually conduct the taste test experiment for Butterbeer, for several reasons:

1. I am still unemployed and this would have been very expensive to do.

2. My friends find the idea of taste testing so many sugary drinks to be gross.

So, this post will contain my research on butterbeer in case YOU would like to try out one of these recipes. If there is enough demand for me to conduct this experiment, I’ll give it a try.

Delicious-Butterbeer

I scoured the internet for Butterbeer recipes, and I found many. The recurring theme centered around the attempt to recreate the Butterbeer found at the Universal Studios Harry Potter park, although there were a few recipes that simply tried to create their own wizardy concoction.

I will present to you the main recipes I have found and show you an ingredient matrix I made.

Recipes:

Note: This blogger already did a Butterbeer experiment, and we will be using some of the recipes she has tried: http://www.orlandoinformer.com/2012/harry-potter-butterbeer-recipe/

Recipe #1: Muggle.net

Recipe #2: Tablespoon.com (this is also the recipe I found on Huffington Post and Fox News)

Recipe #3: Chica and Jo

Recipe #4: Madam Rosmerta’s Butterbeer

Recipe #5: DesignDazzle

Recipe #6: Food Network: Sandra Lee

Recipe #7: Bakingdom

Recipe #8: Picturing Disney

Recipe #9: Dinners, Dishes and Desserts

Harry Potter Butterbeer Recipe Matrix:

Butterbeer matrix5

warm_butterbeer_recipe_06

I appreciate the variety of recipes, although it seems all but one use Cream Soda. Like all good recipes, the better quality cream soda one uses, the better. Only 4 recipes use alcohol. Don’t be put off by recipe #7’s amounts; that recipe makes many servings.

Some of these ingredients look challenging to find: Butterscotch schnapps? Vanilla butter nut flavoring (very specific!)? I’ve never used meringue powder before, have you?

Without trying any of these, I’d have to guess that #6 is the sweetest. #4 looks very interesting since it uses two types of alcohol and very different ingredients from the rest.

Which one would you make?

Bonus College Recipe: Reddit

Bonus Video: A fun video of making three kinds of Harry Potter Butterbeer (hot, cold and smoothie) Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WTn5SJLTnek

rosemertas-butterbeer

Real Butterbeer!

This may be news to some of you, but butterbeer is actually a real thing, not something simply made up by J.K. Rowling. Apparently it’s a drink from England back in the day (think 500 years ago). Below are three recipes, including the original, authentic recipe called Tudor Buttered Beere from 1588 (you know it’s real because there is an added letter “e” to the word beer. I bet people got this drink at the local shoppe).

Real Recipe #1: Tudor Bettered Beere

Real Recipe #2: Sujay Thomas

Real Recipe #3: Dairy Free

Real Buttered Beer Recipe Matrix:

Butterbeer matrix6

Here is a great video of a guy actually trying the real Butterbeer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H_Jgq-VQE-o

Also, this blog does a great job with research of original butterbeer. This is what my blog would look like if I were a real food researcher. (His recipe is very similar to Real Recipe #1) http://drgateau.com/?p=1419

I hope you enjoyed this blog entry, even though there were no experiments actually conducted. Like I stated in the beginning, if there is enough desire for me to test this out, I’ll do it!

Happy Halloween.

UPDATE:

More resources on Butterbeer:

intoxicology.net/how-to-make-real-butter-beer-from-harry-potter/

http://www.ourshelflives.com/sweet-things-bring-your-own-butterbeer/

Butterbeer_Recipenicole

Note: None of these photos are mine. 

6 thoughts on “Homemade Harry Potter Butterbeer

  1. Mugglenets recipe seems to be the easier. I might try it out.

  2. Thanks for linking to my blog! The recipe really was easy and tasty! (And you can find Butterscotch Schnapps at most liquor stores- I got mine at a chain called Viscount)! :)

  3. Pingback: Buttered Coffee Hot & Iced (With Homemade Butter) | Obedient Ingredients

  4. Wow, you made a chart and everything! Awesome. We tasted several of these and made our own version as well with and without alcohol. We’ve been obsessed since we visited the part last weekend. You can see what we made at our liquor blog : http://intoxicology.net/how-to-make-real-butter-beer-from-harry-potter/

  5. Pingback: Sweet Things: Bring Your Own Butterbeer | Our Shelf Lives

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers